Fleet News
Fleet FAQ


What are the driving licence categories for buses and minibuses?



Category D1

You can drive vehicles with:

  • no more than 16 passenger seats
  • a maximum length not more than 8 metres
  • a trailer up to 750kg

Category D1E

You can drive D1 category vehicles with a trailer over 750kg, but the trailer - when fully loaded - can’t weigh more than the vehicle.

The combined weight of both can’t exceed 12,000kg.


Category D

You can drive any bus with more than 8 passenger seats (with a trailer up to 750kg).

Category DE

You can drive D category vehicles with a trailer over 750kg.

Source: GOV.UK

Related content