Fleet News

Fleet News Awards 2019 finalists revealed (book your ticket)

Fleet News is pleased to reveal the finalists in the fleet, manufacturer and supplier categories for the upcoming Fleet News Awards 2019. 

After hours of debating, the judges have come to a decision and released the shortlist for this year's annual award ceremony. 

View the full list of winners 

The ceremony, held at London’s Grosvenor House on March 20, will see the industry dressed to the nines with bated breath, waiting to hear who will take home a coveted Fleet News Awards trophy.

Fleet News would like to congratulate all that were shortlisted and look forward to seeing you all next month. 

Tickets are selling out fast, and only four premium tables remain.


The finalists are as follows: 

Safe Fleet Award sponsored by Verizon Connect

  • Altrad Services
  • Gateshead Council
  • HTS (Property & Environment)
  • Scottish Water
  • Speedy Asset Services
  • Momentum Instore             


Ultra-low Emission Fleet sponsored by BMW Group (UK)

  • ALD Automotive
  • Dundee City Council
  • Leeds City Council
  • London Borough of Hackney
  • OVO Energy


Best Travel and Mobility Initiative sponsored by Goodyear

  • ALD Automotive
  • Gateshead Council      


Most Improved Fleet of the Year

  • Altrad Services
  • Momentum Instore
  • Schneider Electric
  • Scottish Water


Fleet of the Year – up to 1,000 vehicles, sponsored by Reflex Vehicle Hire

  • Dundee City Council (Gary McRae, fleet manager),
  • Momentum Instore (Helen Brislane, commercial manager),
  • Radian (Sam McIndoe, fleet manager),
  • South Yorkshire Police & South Yorkshire Fire and Rescue (Sarah Gilding, Head of Vehicle Fleet Management)       


Fleet of the Year – 1,001-plus vehicles, sponsored by Zenith

  • Addison Lee (Justin Patterson, Head of Operations)
  • Murphy Plant (Tony Murphy, Fleet Manager)
  • Schneider Electric (Tracy Turbitt, Senior Buyer)
  • Scottish Water (Elaine Pringle, Vehicle Operations Team Manager)


Best Small Car   

  • Audi A1
  • Citroën C3
  • Ford Fiesta
  • SEAT Ibiza
  • ŠKODA Fabia
  • Volkswagen Polo


Best Lower Medium Car

  • Ford Focus
  • Honda Civic
  • Kia Ceed 
  • SEAT Leon
  • Toyota Prius
  • Volkswagen Golf   


Best Upper Medium Car

  • Ford Mondeo
  • Kia Optima
  • Peugeot 508 
  • ŠKODA Superb
  • Vauxhall Insignia
  • Volkswagen Passat         


Best Compact SUV          

  • Citroën C3 Aircross
  • Hyundai Kona
  • Kia Stonic
  • SEAT Arona
  • Toyota C-HR 
  • Volkswagen T-Roc


Best Mid-size SUV           

  • BMW X1
  • Kia Sportage
  • Peugeot 3008 
  • SEAT Ateca
  • ŠKODA Karoq
  • Volvo XC40


Best Compact Premium Car        

  • Audi A3
  • BMW 1 Series
  • Mercedes-Benz A-Class 
  • MINI Clubman


Best Premium Car           

  • Audi A4
  • BMW 3 Series
  • Jaguar XE
  • Lexus IS
  • Mercedes-Benz C-Class 
  • Volkswagen Arteon


Best Executive Car          

  • Audi A6
  • BMW 5 Series
  • Jaguar XF
  • Mercedes-Benz E-Class
  • Volvo S/V90      


Best Zero Emission Car  

  • BMW i3
  • Hyundai Kona Electric
  • Jaguar iPACE
  • Nissan Leaf
  • Renault Zoe
  • Volkswagen e-Golf


Green Fleet Manufacturer of the Year    

  • BMW (UK)
  • Hyundai UK
  • Nissan Motor (GB)
  • PSA Group
  • Toyota (GB)


Most Improved Fleet Manufacturer of the Year 

  • Honda UK
  • Nissan Motor (GB)
  • Suzuki GB


Leasing Company of the Year - up to 20,000 vehicles       

  • Ogilvie Fleet
  • TCH Leasing


Leasing Company of the Year - more than 20,000 vehicles             

  • ALD Automotive
  • Alphabet (GB)
  • Hitachi Capital Vehicle Solutions
  • LeasePlan UK
  • Lex Autolease
  • Volkswagen Financial Services | Fleet
  • Zenith


Best Rental Company of the Year, sponsored by The Grosvenor Group

  • County Car and Van Rental
  • Enterprise Rent-A-Car
  • Europcar
  • Northgate Vehicle Hire 
  • Reflex Vehicle Hire
  • Thrifty Car & Van Rental         


Customer Service Award, sponsored by Copart UK           

  • Alphabet (GB)
  • Auto Windscreens
  • Jaama
  • Lex Autolease
  • Nexus Vehicle Rental
  • Ogilvie Fleet
  • Reflex Vehicle Hire
  • The AA


Fleet Dealer of the Year

  • Norton Way Corporate 
  • TrustFord
  • Johnsons Fleet Services           


Fleet Supplier of the Year, sponsored by Hyundai Motor UK         

  • ALD Automotive
  • FMG
  • Hitachi Capital Vehicle Solutions
  • Jaama
  • Reflex Vehicle Hire
  • The AA


New Company Car of the Year, sponsored by Halfords Autocentres          

  • Audi A6
  • Ford Focus
  • Mercedes-Benz A-Class
  • Mercedes-Benz C-Class
  • Nissan Qashqai
  • Volvo XC40   


Fleet Manufacturer of the Year, sponsored by KeeResources      

  • Audi UK
  • BMW (UK)
  • Ford Motor Company
  • Kia Motors (UK) 
  • Mercedes-Benz Cars UK
  • Volvo Car UK 


Fleet Champion Award 

Announced on the night


Fleet Manager of the Year           

  • Justin Patterson, Addison Lee
  • Stewart Lightbody, Anglian Water
  • Graham Telfer, Gateshead Council
  • David Fisher, Rexel UK
  • Sarah Gilding, South Yorkshire Police & South Yorkshire Fire and Rescue


Fleet News Hall of Fame Award, sponsored by The Automobile Association

Announced on the night


Roundtables, pre-dinner drinks and fleet manager engagement ŠKODA UK


Pictures: Fleet News Awards 2018 Gallery

Click a thumbnail to view all the images in the gallery.

Login to comment


No comments have been made yet.

Related content

Compare costs of your company cars

Looking to acquire new vehicles? Check how much they'll cost to run with our Car Running Cost calculator.

What is your BIK car tax liability?

The Fleet News car tax calculator lets you work out tax costs for both employer and employee