Fleet News

New Toyota Yaris makes it three generations of five-star safety

By gaining the top five-star rating for all-round safety performance, new Yaris becomes the third generation of Toyota’s supermini to pass through Euro NCAP independent crash testing.

Not only has Yaris met the highest standards for the 2011 test programme, its results were good enough to comply with the higher five-star threshold that will be introduced in 2012.
For new Yaris, specific measures were taken to improve performance in side impacts, including fitting bulkheads inside the rocker panels that help ensure the efficient transfer of impact loads and reduce the risk of the rockers breaking. More protection is provided by side impact bars fitted in the doors.

New Yaris is equipped as standard with seven airbags, including a driver’s knee airbag. The driver and front passenger side airbags have a new two-chamber design that improves protection with larger cushions – eight litres for the thorax/abdomen area and 4.5 litres for the pelvis.

There are also numerous features designed to reduce the risk of injuries to pedestrians. The front bumper contains energy absorbing materials that reduce the impact energy directed at a pedestrian’s legs, and a pantograph bonnet structure also absorbs energy to protect the head and body in a collision. There is a crushable cowl louvre at the rear edge of the bonnet, and the front wings have an impact absorbing brackets.

Login to comment


No comments have been made yet.

Compare costs of your company cars

Looking to acquire new vehicles? Check how much they'll cost to run with our Car Running Cost calculator.

What is your BIK car tax liability?

The Fleet News car tax calculator lets you work out tax costs for both employer and employee