Fleet News

Sir Stirling Moss OBE honoured as International Historic Motoring Award winners revealed

Leading figures in the international historic motoring industry came from around the world to gather in London last week for the announcement of the results of the inaugural International Historic Motoring Awards, in association with EFG International Private Banking and Octane magazine.

Former Formula One driver and World Sportscar Champion, the award-winning television commentator Martin Brundle, acted as Master of Ceremonies at the gala celebration at London’s spectacular St. Pancras Renaissance Hotel.

Tony Brooks, who competed in 38 Grand Prix races between 1956 and ’61, joined Martin Brundle on stage to welcome the winner of the Lifetime Achievement Award, Sir Stirling Moss OBE, who retired from racing this year.

‘I’ve had the most fantastic life,’ Sir Stirling told the audience. ‘It’s been dangerous, exciting and very exhilarating. The danger of motor racing was one of the reasons why you wanted to do it as a kid, and they were great times.’

Martin Brundle asked ‘Are you jealous of the F1 drivers of today?’ to which Sir Stirling replied ‘How could I be? If Lewis wins something he has to go to talk to Vodaphone, while I just went out chasing crumpet!’

The winners are:

  • Lifetime Achievement Award: Sir Stirling Moss
  • Car of the Year: Porsche Type 64 Rekordwagen, Automuseum Prototyp, Germany
  • Motoring Event of the Year, sponsored by Classic Motor Cars: Pebble Beach Concours d’Elegance, USA
  • Motorsport Event of the Year: Goodwood Revival, UK
  • Personal Achievement of the Year, sponsored by The Sunday Times InGear: Kevin Wheatcroft of Donington Park Circuit, UK
  • Book of the Year: Ultimate E-type - The Competition Cars - by Philip Porter
  • Club of the Year, sponsored by Ellis Clowes: Historic Sports Car Club
  • Industry Champion of the Year, sponsored by the HSCC: the Revs Program at Stanford University, USA
  • Innovation of the Year: 3D Engineers, UK
  • Museum or Collection of the Year: Simeone Foundation Automotive Museum, USA
  • Historic Race Series of the Year, sponsored by BRM watches: Pre-63 GT
  • Restoration of the Year, sponsored by EFG International: Lindner/Nöcker lightweight Jaguar E-type, Classic Motor Cars, UK

An international panel of expert judges, which included American TV personality and car collector Jay Leno and five-times Le Mans winner Derek Bell, chose the winners of all but one category. The result of the Car of the Year category was decided by public vote.

Chairman of the Judges, Duncan Wiltshire, commented, ‘The depth of our judges’ collective experience, coupled with a terrific commitment to the judging process, has resulted in a range of individuals, clubs, companies and events who should be extremely proud to have come out on top in their respective fields.’

Robert Coucher, International Editor for Octane, said, ‘It was fantastic to see a ‘Who's Who’ of the classic car world celebrate the Best of the Best at the spectacular black tie dinner at the splendid St. Pancras Renaissance Hotel in London. With such powerful nominations received from all around the world, combined with the sheer quantity, the Awards were a tough call for the judges. So many congratulations to the 12 recipients of the International Historic Motoring Awards on the night.’

Login to comment


No comments have been made yet.

Compare costs of your company cars

Looking to acquire new vehicles? Check how much they'll cost to run with our Car Running Cost calculator.

What is your BIK car tax liability?

The Fleet News car tax calculator lets you work out tax costs for both employer and employee