Fleet News

Finalists announced for Brake’s Fleet Safety Awards

Safety-conscious organisations from across the globe have made it through to the final stage of Brake’s Fleet Safety Awards 2017.

The road safety charity received a record number of first-time entries this year and now more than 70 organisations are in with a chance of winning one of 15 awards.

The annual event, sponsored by ARI and ProVision, recognises the achievements of fleet operators and suppliers who are working hard to reduce road crashes involving at-work drivers. This year’s finalists include household names such as FedEX, Royal Mail Group, and British Gas, as well as smaller companies including TMJ Interiors, AbbVie and Reflex.

A full shortlist (details below) has now been released for each category, and winners will be announced at a gala dinner on Thursday 28 September 2017, at the Hilton Birmingham Metropole, Birmingham.

Katie Shephard, development director, at Brake, said: “Congratulations to all organisations which have been shortlisted this year. 

“The standard was exceptionally high this year and we’re looking forward to working with our external judges to select some well deserving winners. 

The 2017 shortlists are as follow:                                         

Company Driver Safety Award (small fleet), sponsored by Fleetmaster

  • AbbVie
  • Carey Worldwide Chaffeured Services
  • Iron Mountain
  • Jet Plant Hire
  • National Vehicle Distribution
  • TMJ Interiors 

Company Driver Safety Award (medium fleet), sponsored by Fleetmaster

  • Bibby Distribution
  • FedEx Express Europe
  • Gateshead Council
  • Glasgow City Council
  • Novus Property Solutions
  • Reynolds

Company Driver Safety Award (large fleet), sponsored by Fleetmaster

  • Anglian Water
  • Atos
  • British Gas
  • Kelly Group
  • Skanska
  • SSE and Applied Driving Techniques
  • Telent Technology Services 

Eco Fleet Award, sponsored by Telogis

  • Bibby Distribution
  • CNG Fuels
  • Gateshead Council
  • Lightfoot
  • VolkerRail

Fleet Safety Analysis and Action Award, sponsored by e-Driving Fleet

  • Balfour Beatty
  • FM Conway
  • Iron Mountain
  • Jacobs and Applied Driving Techniques
  • Morrison Utility Services
  • Pollock (Scotrans)
  • Royal Mail Group
  • Telent Technology Services 

Fleet Safety Innovation Award, sponsored by Johnson + Johnson

  • Auto Windscreens
  • Carillion Fleet Management
  • Clearview Intelligence FTA Van Excellence
  • Intelligent Telematics and Tesco.com
  • McGee
  • ProVision
  • Reflex Vans
  • Renault Trucks

Fleet Safety Partnership Award

  • Anglian Water and Ctrack
  • Aster Group
  • British Gas
  • Glasgow City Council and Gallagher Bassett
  • Johnson & Johnson and AIP
  • Phillips 66
  • Pollock (Scotrans)
  • Telent Technology Services Ltd and Lex Autolease

Fleet Safety Product Award, sponsored by QBE

  • British Gas
  • Checkedsafe
  • DriverFocus
  • r2c Online
  • Reflex Vans
  • Renault Trucks

Fleet Safety Product Award (in-vehicle technology), sponsored by QBE

  • BigChange
  • Lightfoot
  • Mobileye
  • ProVision
  • Safety Shield Systems
  • SmartWitness
  • Teletrac Navman
  • VisionTrack

Global Road Safety Award

  • Iron Mountain
  • Johnson & Johnson
  • Kunhadi
  • Mobileye

Road Safety in the Community Award, sponsored by Ocado

  • Agro Merchants Lurgan - Sawyers Transport
  • Conquip Engineering Group
  • Co-op Insurance
  • Fleet Operator Recognition Scheme (FORS)
  • Licence Bureau
  • Stephensons Solicitors LLP

Safe Vehicles Award, sponsored by Checkpoint

  • FCA Group (Alpha Romeo)
  • Instarmac Group
  • Jet Plant Hire
  • Morrison Utility Vehicles
  • Reynolds
  • Skanska

Road Risk Manager of the Year Award, sponsored by Licence Bureau

  • Rory Morgan, Iron Mountain
  • James Mitchell, Arriva
  • Robert Lindsay, Balfour Beatty
  • Andrew Drewary, road risk manager for Broadspire, Crawford & Company 
  • Richard Green, Anglian Water
  • Mark Bromhall, Royal Mail Group
  • Alison Moriarty, Skanska

Kevin Storey Award for Outstanding Commitment to Road Safety, sponsored by Arriva

  • Announced on the night

Click here for safety and risk management best practice and procurement insight

Leave a comment for your chance to win £20 of John Lewis vouchers.

Every issue of Fleet News the editor picks his favourite comment from the past two weeks – get involved for your chance to appear in print and win!

Login to comment


No comments have been made yet.

Compare costs of your company cars

Looking to acquire new vehicles? Check how much they'll cost to run with our Car Running Cost calculator.

What is your BIK car tax liability?

The Fleet News car tax calculator lets you work out tax costs for both employer and employee