Fleet News

ACFO Board elections at 2019 AGM

Fleet news logo

Two members of fleet representative body ACFO are seeking first-time election to the organisation’s board at the 2019 AGM.

Stewart Lightbody (pictured), head of fleet services at Anglian Water, who has 25 years motor industry experience including 18 years in fleet, and Ryan Coles, global travel and fleet manager at Aviva for the past six-and-a-half-years, have put their names forward.

ACFO chairman John Pryor has announced he will stand down at the AGM as he nears retirement from his job as fleet and travel manager at Arcadia Group, and Phil Redmond retired as a director at the end of 2018. It means a straightforward members’ ballot with the result announced at the June 12 AGM. Lightbody was co-opted on to the ACFO board following Redmond’s retirement.

Additionally, by three-yearly rotation, Richard Baird, new business development director at Marshall Leasing, is seeking re-election to the board for a third term at the 2019 AGM.

ACFO has a six-strong board which is completed by present deputy chairman Caroline Sandall, director ESE UK Consulting and a former fleet manager at Barclays Bank; Debbie Floyde, group fleet and risk and facilities manager, Bauer Media; and Denise Lane, head of group fleet at Capita.

Pryor said: “I am delighted that both Stewart and Ryan have agreed to stand for election for the first time to the ACFO board as they are both full-time professional fleet managers with significant experience.

“Subject to ratification of their election at the 2019 AGM - and Richard being re-elected - it means that board composition is not only maintained in terms of a majority of directors being full-time professional fleet managers, but there is also an equal split between male and female directors.”

Pryor, who has served on the ACFO board since 2006 and has been chairman since 2014, added: “I will be taking retirement from Arcadia Group after 30 years so will no longer be involved on a daily basis in the world of fleet operations or the growing strength of mobility. It therefore seemed to me to be inappropriate to continue as both a director and chairman.”

The chairman of ACFO is elected annually. Following the 2019 AGM, the new six-strong board will meet to elect a chairman for 2019/20.

Leave a comment for your chance to win £20 of John Lewis vouchers.

Every issue of Fleet News the editor picks his favourite comment from the past two weeks – get involved for your chance to appear in print and win!

Login to comment


No comments have been made yet.

Related content

Compare costs of your company cars

Looking to acquire new vehicles? Check how much they'll cost to run with our Car Running Cost calculator.

What is your BIK car tax liability?

The Fleet News car tax calculator lets you work out tax costs for both employer and employee