Fleet News

Winners announced in FTA’s Everywoman in Transport and Logistics Awards

Fleet news logo

The winners of the Freight Transport Association’s Everywoman in Transport and Logistics Awards have been announced today at a ceremony held at London’s Savoy Hotel.

The ceremony was attended by leading figures from the sector along with representatives from the media, business and Government, including a keynote address by transport minister Stephen Hammond.

The programme was an opportunity to celebrate the female role models who have demonstrated remarkable success, whether in senior management positions, as drivers, or young trailblazers in the early stages of a promising career.

The winners in the FTA everywoman in Transport & Logistics Awards for 2013 were:

Woman of the Year – sponsored by FTA - Jacqui Gavaghan, performance director, Reading Transport 

Rising Star of the Year Award – sponsored by Motor Transport - Charlotte Laval, supplier performance service manager, Wincanton 

Driver of the Year Award – sponsored by TNT - Shauni O'Neill, train operator, London Underground

Director of the Year Award – sponsored by Asda Stores - Lindsay Haselhurst, development and marketing director, Wincanton

The Warehousing Award – sponsored by UKWA - Adele Waite, general manager, Consumer Life Science Division, DHL Supply Chain

Industry Champion Award – sponsored by DHL Supply Chain - Ruth Waring FCILT, managing director, Labyrinth Logistics Consulting

Innovation and Sustainability Award – sponsored by DHL Supply Chain - Danielle Kozlowska, process improvement manager, Stanley Black and Decker

Team Leader of the Year Award – sponsored by MAN Truck & Bus - Marion Roberts, station manager, Network Rail

In addition, in recognition of her commitment to championing the role of women in the industry, Nikki King (pictured), managing director of Izuzu Truck (UK) was presented with the inaugural Spirit of Everywoman Award.

Maxine Benson, co-founder of Everywoman, said: “The transport and logistics industry in the UK is vast and there are so many opportunities for women with the determination, enthusiasm and passion to succeed.

"With transport and logistics becoming an ever-evolving, fast moving, technology – driven industry offering long term, sustainable careers, it is critical that the women playing an influencing role in shaping and leading this sector should be celebrated.

"Today’s winners, boasting a varied skills-set, are examples of this - resourceful, pioneering and innovative women who represent the very essence of what makes the industry great.

"We are proud to be able to celebrate their achievements and are confident their success will inspire women of all ages, experience and skills-levels to bring their talents to the industry.”

Theo de Pencier, chief executive of the Freight Transport Association (FTA), added: “Women are an essential part of every aspect of supply chains, from drivers and warehouse staff, to transport managers and managing directors.

"Industry cannot be passive in attracting women, and the FTA everywoman in Transport & Logistics Awards are the perfect opportunity to showcase how women can make a career in transport a successful and fulfilling one which is why FTA is delighted to support this event.

"FTA is leading by example through the high proportion of female specialists and managers it employs and women also hold key positions on its Operating Board."

Login to comment


No comments have been made yet.

Compare costs of your company cars

Looking to acquire new vehicles? Check how much they'll cost to run with our Car Running Cost calculator.

What is your BIK car tax liability?

The Fleet News car tax calculator lets you work out tax costs for both employer and employee