Fleet News

SMMT appoints new president

Gareth Jones, managing director of ebm-papst Automotive and Drives UK, will become president of The Society of Motor Manufacturers and Traders (SMMT) from January 1, 2015.

Jones replaces Tim Abbott who has completed his second year as SMMT president and now becomes deputy president.

He has recently taken up a post with BMW in South Africa, following his most recent role as managing director, BMW Group UK. 

Jones has more than 26 years’ experience within the ebm-papst group, operating in the manufacturing supply chains of many global industries including automotive, telecommunications, rail, consumer electronics, white goods and retail.

He is an engineer with a wide range of experience across many business environments.
He said: “I’m enormously honoured to succeed Tim Abbott as president of SMMT and I would like to congratulate him on such a successful tenure. I’m very proud to accept this role and look forward to working with the entire SMMT team and my industry colleagues to promote the best interests of the automotive industry.”
Three new vice presidents have been appointed to support Gareth Jones: Penny Randall, marketing director, Renault Trucks UK; Tony Walker, deputy managing director, Toyota Motor Manufacturing (UK) and James Wright, Managing Director, Nissan Motor (GB).

They join previous vice presidents: Mark Ovenden, chairman and managing director, Ford of Britain;
John Neill CBE, chairman and group chief executive, Unipart Group and Ralf Speth, CEO, Jaguar Land Rover.


Login to comment


No comments have been made yet.

Compare costs of your company cars

Looking to acquire new vehicles? Check how much they'll cost to run with our Car Running Cost calculator.

What is your BIK car tax liability?

The Fleet News car tax calculator lets you work out tax costs for both employer and employee